Going to Waste: MMSB-Harris Centre fund announces 2010 recipients

Dec. 21, 2010

The Harris Centre has announced the recipients of the 2010 Harris Centre MMSB Waste Management Applied Research Fund. Congratulations to Robert Helleur, Shafiq Alam, Kelly Hawboldt, Toby Rowe, Baiyu Zhang and Michelle Porter.

“We’re incredibly impressed by the calibre of the applications we received,” said MMSB director of programs Gary Ryan. “These projects all have the potential to have a significant impact on waste management challenges in this province.”

The successful recipients represent a range of faculties and units across Memorial, including the Department of Folklore, the Department of Chemistry, the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science and the Sustainability Office.

The scope of the projects is also broad. Several have a specific geographic focus, including a waste audit at Memorial’s St. John’s campus and an assessment of informal community recycling networks in the capital city. Others set out to offer broad solutions to technical challenges experienced across the province, such as on-site composting for landfills and recycling methods for used tires.

“These projects, chosen to reflect the actual challenges faced by communities and organizations in Newfoundland and Labrador, have the potential to make a positive difference in the province,” said Harris Centre Director Dr. Rob Greenwood. “Applied research like this truly emphasizes the central role that Memorial can play in sustaining the municipalities and regions of Newfoundland and Labrador.”

For more information on the fund, please visit the Harris Centre website.


Marketing & Communications

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000